Norwegian site
Backyard Battle 2010
By Jon HĂ„tveit  Friday March 17th, 2010  Return to News

2008 X-Games Gold Medalist Andreas Håtveit of Norway Launches his “Backyard Battle” Contest for 2010.

Freeskier Andreas Håtveit winner of this year's prestigious Dew Tour contest in the USA and silver medalist at 2010 X-Games has announced his 2010 “Backyard Battle” contest will take place on 22-25 March 2010. Top Scandinavian riders will undertake the knockout contest in Andreas's famous backyard park.
Big Air Freeski Contest
For the second year running Andreas Håtveit will host a knockout big air competition in his own backyard park. 14 top invited Scandinavian freeskiers will compete head to head in a knockout contest to win the title of “Backyard Battler of the Year”.
Rail Jam
In addition the riders will compete in the rail jam “The Candy Invitational” in which each rider has a named jar which is filled with candy by Andreas according to how well the freeskier rides along the backyard rail line. The freeskier with the most candy in the jar wins this rail contest.
Own Built Park
The competition will take place in the world class terrain park built in Andreas's own backyard. The park feature which was broadcast and endorsed by top American sports channel ESPN as an “incredible development in freeski” was designed and built personally by Andreas Håtveit. It includes a massive 17m jump with a unique ramp run-in suspended between two floors of a neighboring building. It also includes a wall and a rail line with a mix up of long and kink rails and boxes.
Second Big Jump This Year
In addition to the features of the world standard park, Andreas and his crew are building a second big jump which will sit on a precipice 300m above overlooking the park. This second jump will challenge the competitors to mix up their range of tricks over the two jumps and with a vista overlooking a 360 degree horizon which will offer excellent photo and film possibilities.
Wild Cards
Two wild cards are being offered to attend this competition. The highest placed non-invited freeskier at the Norwegian Freeski Open held on Sunday 21 March will be offered a place on the riders list. Andreas today launches a video qualification contest and will choose a winner from the entries posted who will be offered a wild card to attend (more information on this video contest at the end of this release).




First Class Hospitality
Continuing the example set last year at the 2009 Backyard Battle, Andreas will host the competitors in his own self built hotel which overlooks the park. Competitors will enjoy a chill out lounge with two large X-Box screens and a full fridge of drinks and snacks loaded up throughout the event and all meals provided. The hotel also features a skate ramp in the basement for the competitors to divert to during rest periods and also adjacent to the hotel is the hotel swimming pool and spa with jacuzzi all of which is open for the sole use of the competitors during the event.
Andreas Håtveit said:
“I am so stoked to run this competition again for the second year. The park and hotel were built with this sort of competition in mind and the freeskiers love coming here, not just for this competition, but also during the season to relax and practice using world standard park facilities in advance of other international competitions.”
In regard to the future Andreas said:
“This year's Backyard Battle is going to be bigger and better than last year's successful competition. We plan to grow this competition bigger each year along with the park. Next year we intend to open up the riders list to a wider international reach of freeskiers as we gradually develop this contest into an annual feature on the international freeski calender.”
Dates: Start – morning Monday 22 March; End - late evening Thursday 25 March 2010
Location: Sudndalen, Norway. 3.5 hours driving time from Oslo.
Invited Freeskiers: include Anders Backe, Thomas Dølplads, Kim Boberg, Pekka Hyysalo, Gaute Silseth, Fridtjof Fredericsson, Elvis Harsheim, Klaus Finne and several more, (full riders list announced on Wednesday 17th March).


Latest news:
Info   Links
Copyright 2023